SDL MAME for Mac OSX

Mac MAME is dead and MAME OSX is in limbo. For the people who still want to use their Multiple Arcade Machine Emulator on their Macs and be some what current their is an option, SDL MAME. I finally got my copy of SDL MAME to work using a front end called Mame Plus! GUI. I know I probably could have run it first using terminal but, I wanted to be able to report back on what most people would end up using. Make sure you install the SDL framework and follow the instructions I posted below. I use the MamePlus! GUI but, you can use Mame Tunes or any other front end. You can download SDL MAME from the Box File Widget or click on the links I’m about to post.

sdlmame0135-universal.tar.bz2

SDL-1.2.14.dmg

mamepgui-1.4.9.mac.universal-20091016.zip

MAME_Tunes_v4.0.1.zip

Cheers!

P.S. If you are too lazy to sign up for Apple’s free ADC membership to get Xcode, you could try to find it on Google. I did a simple search for those folks and here is the MegaUpload link.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=AHN7ZNMX

About Mac Emulators
I am an Old School gamer with roots in emulation and gaming. I love video games, but mostly I love the old ones from our past. Emulation is a way to experience all these old games on your personal computer.

Leave a Reply

