Java Gameboy Color Emulator GameGuha

There was an update to a Java emulator created for a Computer Science class at the University of Central Florida and I was able to give it a go with my Mac. It runs Gameboy and they are hoping it will eventually emulate Gameboy Color. It will run on any machine with JVM installed. I was able to run Mega Man V using my Macbook Pro, which is running the new Snow Leopard operating system. I also have Ubuntu installed using rEFIt but, that is a story for another day. Mega Man ran good but, with no sound. Seemed to run glitch free other than the lack of sound. I was not able to use my controller, but I reckon that with a keyboard mapping utility it might be possible.

r78
Fixed a small bug in the window drawing.

r77
Optimized window and sprite drawing. Also, performing the interrupt check every opcode instead of every scanline has a small performance hit, but gives better emulation accuracy on some games so I´m leaving it for now.

r76
Some optimizations.

r75
Allow reverting back to slow background rendering for games that swap tile maps intra-frame.

r74
Window drawing! It´s slow, but I´ll optimize that later. Also, throttling is turned on by default now.

r73
Small update. A little bit faster.

r72
Preliminary background tile caching. Good for about a 2x speedup. Sprites still have some room for optimization.

To download grab it from the Box File Widget or go to the Gameguha Home Page.

Cheers!

About Mac Emulators
I am an Old School gamer with roots in emulation and gaming. I love video games, but mostly I love the old ones from our past. Emulation is a way to experience all these old games on your personal computer.

Leave a Reply

