My New Devour

I bought a new Android phone called the Devour. So far I like the keyboard better than the droid and the operating system is full of neat features. I know what most of you are thinking, “it’s no iPhone”. Honestly I don’t give a rats ass. I bought a phone that links all my social networking, texts, and email into one inbox and calls it motoblur. I had an iPhone and used three icons on 6 pages of apps. Honestly I don’t need all the bells and whistles. I know that my phone is not an iPhone nor is it as powerful and grand as the Droid or the Nexus One. My friends all tell me that just as soon as they see my new phone. The iPhone was not for me. I don’t watch high def movies or play games on my phone, nor do I care to. I just wanted a phone that linked all my texts, messages, and social networking sites into one device. Motorola calls this service motoblur and so far I like it. Twitter is a little funky. I get my friend’s tweets but I don’t get my @ messages in my “universal inbox”. The device is stuck on Android 1.6 and the reasons on the internet that us that this is because MotoBlur hasn’t been updated for the newer Android OS. I’m new to the Android arena so I like the OS as it is but that is most likely because I don’t have any previous experiences with this mobile OS. The keyboard is much better than the Droid but the layout is not the way I would have made it. The top row is dedicated to numbers and the spacebar is in the middle of the last row. If it was up to me, I would have gotten rid of the top row in favor of a better layout with bigger keys. Even with my big paws the keys are fairly easy to type on. My girlfriend has fancy nails and couldn’t get the Eris because of the heat activated screen so, we got her a devour as well and she likes it a lot. “I was worried that the keys would get hurt under my nails but they must be well made because it seems fine”, she said. She also brings up a good point. The device is extremely well made. It’s made out of aluminum and is a very solid phone. The screen is very responsive and even has a little force feedback at times. It is heat sensitive though so you ladies with fancy nails better try before you buy. The memory is micro SD and the battery is side loaded right next to it, no more dropping your phone and seeing it fly into a million pieces. The headphones are the regular size so it will fit your iPod headphones or any regular headphone you may have. The camera is only 3 mega pixels but this suits me just fine. If you are a big picture taker then you might look elsewhere for your next phone. The speaker phone is loud and just like most phones. Mostly the design is what shines here. The rubber bumpers on the back actually help make this phone comfortable to hold and use. The solid design and almost flawless MotoBlur syncing make this a solid phone in my eyes. It is a little on the heavy side, but if my little five foot nothing girlfriend doesn’t mind, you won’t either.

About Mac Emulators
I am an Old School gamer with roots in emulation and gaming. I love video games, but mostly I love the old ones from our past. Emulation is a way to experience all these old games on your personal computer.

4 Responses to My New Devour

  1. Fantastic web site, I hadn’t noticed macemulators.wordpress.com previously in my searches!
    Carry on the superb work!

Leave a Reply

