Mac 10.6.4 Update Causing Problems with Steam

This is the message I received from Steam when I started it up today (June 18th 2010).

The recent 10.6.4 update from Apple has noticeable performance issues for NVidia graphic chip owners running high performance games. If you wish to avoid this, you should consider waiting to install the 10.6.4 update until Apple has had the opportunity to address this issue. Full details of what is contained in the 10.6.4 update can be found here:http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4150. If you have already installed this update and believe your graphic performance is affected, please contact Apple support (http://www.apple.com/support/) for details on what to do.

Don’t forget to follow us on twitter @macemulators and check out our Facebook page. http://tinyurl.com/25lo337

About Mac Emulators
I am an Old School gamer with roots in emulation and gaming. I love video games, but mostly I love the old ones from our past. Emulation is a way to experience all these old games on your personal computer.

4 Responses to Mac 10.6.4 Update Causing Problems with Steam

  1. Chris says:

    The question is, what can we do, for apple support will now be flooded with confused customers who can’t get their games to work properly.

    I have noticed graphical issues such as images distorting and “running”, and a one such case which caused the entire computer to freeze > force shutdown.

  2. Mac Emulators says:

    I wouldn’t worry too much about what Apple has to say about it. I believe it is going to be up to the people at Valve to develop around the new Mac updates. I have faith in them though because it seems like Steam updates almost every time I start it up.

  3. Chris says:

    hmm, still having graphics problems, and not only with steam games, even browser based games have had their problems, and just now, RS caused my screen to show half black with graphical obvious problems, then froze. had to force shutdown. Alos, support isn’t actually the greatest place to go as there is not much I can do in the way of contacting them through they’re current setup.

    Also, rolling back is not possible as this is a shared computer, and after having fixed it many other times, I’m not looking forward to another re-install.

  4. Mac Emulators says:

    That’s no good. I’m sorry to hear that. I guess it’s a waiting game then. Hopefully they fix this soon. Thanks for sharing your story with us too. Helps knowing who’s having problems and what’s happening.

Leave a Reply

